Early Bird Special: The 80’s

by Pasadena Adjacent

.After Hours Special: The 08’s

Yes, I realize it’s the 09’s now and perhaps I should have put this post up earlier. The Riverside Museum of Art is the location of these coinciding events. I’m here with the “early birds” wishing I was hanging out in the “after hours”. Is that  Roger Herman, Raul Guerra and Jim Morphesis? Why could that be curator Peter FrankDid neo-expressionism lack female participants? ask the GuerrillaGirls

blue_bob

The 80’s offered great h’ordeurves along with a decent supply of Merlot. The 08’s gave away buttons and offered free beer served from a keg. The above is my favorite painting by home town boy Jeff Soto. Looks like a version of Sponge Bob Square Pants carpeted in blue shag. He may lack eyes but he certainly carries a fine rack.

……..


