Trash Tuesday #18: Where Getting it Cheap is Part of the Esthetic

by Pasadena Adjacent

t_ready1

My favorite aunt Wilma takes care of elderly people. She’s very good at it. Oftentimes these folks are widows who are childless or whose own children live far away, are estranged, or elderly themselves. These end of life stories are often lonely and sad. Those inheritors that fit the profile I’ve defined, aren’t interested beyond the obvious assets (real estate, safety deposit boxes etc). Wilma deals with the contents of the home. She has a garage sale. The rest she puts into a dumpster she’s rented and placed out on the curb. Thats where I come in. I play interception between home and curb. The above treasure is a thermos whose delicate glass blown innards have survived for decades. I don’t know if it originally came with the plaid bag but they do make a handsome match. Their previous owner was a woman named Linda whose curb remains in Glendora.

Inspiration: Susan

……….

