Trash Tuesday #35: Where Getting it Cheap is Part of the Esthetic

by Pasadena Adjacent

fish_fix
flying_f

I’ve been slowly getting my Highland Park garden into working order. Considering I once took a hillside tumble resultng in six pins and a plate; slow is key. A part of that process includes a bit of cleaning up. To that end I’ve brought my flying trout out from under the sun and into the studio for a little cosmetic touch up. He came to me by way of a dumpster dive I took in Monterey Park in the early 90’s.Why so sure of the date? because I discovered his visage in a slide of my installation “Ronko’s Chapel” through FAR Bazaar over at the Brewery.

He wasn’t always the beautiful spotted rainbow trout you see before you. No. Originally he was a plain Jane pinned to a plaque. I added a splash of iridescent paint, and for the sake of realism I used a toothbrush to splatter some much needed spots. My trouts final act of transformation occurred when I glued one of my father’s childhood marbles into his single eye socket. Like Barbra Streisand, he has one good side and I’ve tried to make the best of it.

……..

