Margarete Hahner Makes My Head Spin

by Pasadena Adjacent

more_albums_c

Remember the post “Money Makes My Head Spin?

Ants_002
rodents
opening_01

Margarete Hahner is my Highland Park neighbor by way of Berlin. “Seen But Not Heard” is her recent one person show at L.A. Valley College Art Gallery. The two seen above are my favorite paintings of hers. According to Margarete, she first started painting on LP’s because they were cheap, readily available and easy to store. I attended her “carrots, dips, brei and chips” closing reception held in the patio of this fabulous mid-century gallery. That’s Mr V’s silhoutte in the hat. (the photos enlarge if you select them)

Margarete’s work has a strong thread running through it that deals with transformation and metamorphosis. To this end she also shoots single-frame movies using a Super 8 movie camera. This is one of her films

……..

