Trash Tuesday #71: Where Getting it Cheap is Part of the Esthetic

by Pasadena Adjacent

somewhere in an adjacent called Burbank in the community hall of a church whose name sounds like a Las Vegas wedding chapel in a costume meant to be the Station Fire made of tiny trees and flaming socks and birds atop my head with a man called Mr V dressed as Nero where we lost the costume contest to a couple of pirate suit rental wearers at a dance where people can take 12 steps forward and backward and want to remain anonymous because some can’t drink and some can’t eat and the libations are limited to coffee and diet coke which cuts out the Mormons but maybe not the music which cuts out me with too much disco until the end of the evening when finally the Talking Heads, Dead Kennedys, Devo and lyrics such as “I might like you better if we slept together” appeared but not before some of us took an unauthorized tour of the church which included the best/worst version of the last supper painted by a german guy with a name like Hubert in a hallway covered in wood paneling that looks like some teenage basement where you did “sleep together” but I digress but not too much because I had to put away the chairs with Mary who dressed up as the good witch Glenda because Mary is good and she had put this shindig together and she had bought two bales of straw for the decor and didn’t know what to do with them and was considering throwing them onto someones front yard which would make Mary not good anymore and I can’t have that so I said I would take them because I think I might be able to use them in a vegetable garden that I will probably never put together just like my blue bottle cord wood house that hasn’t happened either so Mr V and I took the straw and threw it on the bed of the truck and started heading back to the freeway when we saw a mannequin leaning up against a tree

so we took that too

