PGOAT Prettiest Girl of All Time: Watercolor #4

by Pasadena Adjacent

 

Garrison_01

Like the title? “Infinite Jest” Chapter 99. Yes, gentle readers. You may ask yourself, is she trying to impress us with this announcement? Damn right – I need to have something to fall back on in case the watercolors don’t wow you. And by the increasingly marginal place by blog seems to occupy, I fear this may be the hideous and ruthless truth.

~~~awkward segue~~~

Woke up rather cold and late last Saturday morning. Dark skies, though longed for, kind of knocked me for a loop. It had rained hard the night before. I was kept up most the night by Mr V, my unpaid intern. Heavy rains had him scurrying up and down our hill to dispense of the water collecting on the ceiling of his makeshift tent/studio. A series of plastic tarps strung together with metal tubing. Humble materials traded from a previous Trash Tuesday; the abandoned windfall of a medical marajauna start up. The third run resulted in a mud slide; Mr V did the sliding. Mr V covered in mud looks a lot like Big Foot.

I called Barbara thinking we would be taking a pass under the threat of stormy skies but no – not these die hards. So I arrived a half hour late to moody weather and a homeless guy who decided to take up residence between me and Barbara. This plein air session (#4 watercolor in 33 years) took place at Pasadena’s Central Park. Which is on the south side of the Castle Green – which is the prettiest girl of all time until you have to paint her. And then she rewards you with a $46.50 parking ticket. Strumpet bitch. So I stuck around, me and the homeless guy, even after the others had left. And I like the results (mostly). To quote South West Traveler fan Pat Tillet  “The quirky little departures from reality and scale are what I really like about (your work).”

True dat.

For Sale: Castle Green 12″ x 16″ on Arches paper $250.00 unframed accesspalm@gmail.com 

